St Mary Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church

Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahdo Church DublinSunday from 9:30 to 13:00

The Ethiopian Orthodox Church belongs to the Oriental Orthodox Churches which acknowledge only the first three ecumenical councils – the Council of Nicaea (325 AD), the Council of Constantinople (381 AD) and the Council of Ephesus (431 AD). It should not be confused with Eastern Orthodox Churches who recognise seven ecumenical councils including the Council of Chalcedon (452 AD) which is rejected by the Oriental Orthodox Churches. The Church of St Mary of Debrework Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church was officially opened on the 21 Grace Bishop Enthons Hagos, member of the Holy Synod in Addis Ababa. The main objective of the Church is to cater for the religious educational needs of the Ethiopian Orthodox community in Ireland and to perform the rites of the seven holy sacraments of the Church which include Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Communion, Confession, Matrimony, Unction of the Sick and Priesthood as well as burial according to the principles of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church. Mass (Divine Liturgy) is held every Sunday from 9:30 to 1pm at Lantern Centre.